Wayfarer Dickson Trophy

The annual Wayfarer dinghy team racing event between Aldeburgh YC and our friends at Orford SC was sailed on Sunday 12th in glorious sunshine with perfect wind. Three boats from each club lined up for the best of three race series with the idea of getting their team home first rather than seeking individual glory. Race 1 went to Aldeburgh despite mutterings of a protest about hitting the windward mark, but the tables were turned in Race 2 when the youngest boat in the fleet, Mike Shallow’s “Kite Runner” from Orford pipped Aldeburgh’s Ben Davies in “Second Chance” on the line. So it was all to play for going into race 3 especially when Charles & Nicky Manby’s Gabbiana was forced into taking a penalty turn on the final run dropping them a couple of places. Eventually Aldeburgh managed to stay one point clear and secure victory in the last race giving them the series by the smallest of margins. We look forward to a return match later in the season.

Comments are closed.

Upcoming Events
  1. Aldeburgh Regatta

    August 17 - August 21
  2. Summer Series H6 OOD Tom Stevens

    August 22 @ 2:15 pm - 5:00 pm
  3. Robinson Tankard LL Crews Race OOD Robert Mulcahy

    August 23 @ 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm
  4. August Afternoon Series OOD Malcolm Myers

    August 24 @ 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm